December 2013

Treloar Shield Final Result


Last Saturday, UTS Norths won the 8th and final round of the Treloar Shield at SOPAC. At the time of preparing this note, the final points had not been posted on the ANSW website but it is certain that once again, UTS Norths has been victorious in winning the Treloar Shield! Congratulations to all of you who helped score points for the club during the eight rounds of the competition.


UTS Norths won the Masters and Junior age Pennant Pointscore and came second to Sydney University in the Open Pennants.


see the results section for the final individual point scores


Upcoming events in January 2014

  • 4th & 5th January: NSW Combined Events Championships (entries already closed) and Allcomers Meets at Campbelltown. The NSW 10k Walk Championships will also be held on 4th January at Campbelltown;

  • 11th January: Club Championships Day 1 at SOPAC;

  • 11th January: Northern Zone resumes at Rotary Field (series 2);

  • 18th January: Hunter Track Classic at Glendale;

  • 1st February: Club Championships Day 2 at SOPAC.


See Athletics NSW website for further details.


Merry Christmas & happy holidays!

UTS Norths would like to wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! All the best for a healthy and injury free 2014 to all our members.

Zatopek Classic


Jordan Gusman was one of three UTS Norths athletes to compete in last Thursday's Zatopek:10 meet in Melbourne.


Jordan was a very respectable third behind fellow NSW athletes Josh Ralph (1:47.12) and Alex Pettigrew (1:50.83). His time of 1:50.93 was just 0.4 behind his PB. A resident of Coff's Harbour, Jordan, 19, is having his first season with UTS Norths after being invited to join the club by his mate and fellow club member Dylan Dudley. "I was very happy with that time as I am still in heavy training" he said. Under coach Patrick Galvin, Jordan plans to run in the Treloar Shield, the Hunter Classic in January, the Briggs Classic in Hobart in February and finish off the season with the State and Australian Championships.


Also competing in the Zatopek Classic were James Connor who came 19th in a respectable 30:12.46 in the Zatopek 10k in his first attempt at the distance. Maren Schuermann finished 4th in the long jump in 5.84m.


Rotary Closure

Please note Rotary Athletics Field will be closed from the 15th December - 4th January 2014.  Extensive repairs to the track will tack place during this time.

Treloar Sheild


Treloar Shield - only 2 rounds to go! UTS Norths are coming first in the Junior and Masters Pennants and second in the Open Pennants points score. Furthermore we are coming first in the overall Treloar Shield points score.


Let's see if we can make it a clean sweep so we need everyone to turn up to SOPAC for the last two rounds of the Treloar Shield! In particular, we need our Open members to turn up so that we can try and catch Sydney University in the Open Pennants competition.


Don't forget that you can enter online via the ANSW website for $5. This must be done by midnight on the Thursday prior the Saturday of competition  Otherwise you can enter on the day, at least one hour before your event but the cost is $10.

See you at SOPAC.

Bella and Katrina

UTS Norths athletes win a swag of medals


UTS Norths athletes won a swag of medals at the Australian All School Championships at Townsville over the weekend.


16 year old Katrina Hunt achieved yet another world junior qualifier with an impressive win in the u18 200 metres in a personal best time of 24.08 seconds. Kat has now qualified for the 100, 200 and 100 metres hurdles for the world juniors. She also won silver in the 100 metres in 11.89 seconds and a gold in the u18  4 x 100 metres relay.

Matt Wood won gold in the u18 110 metres hurdles in a personal best time of 13.91 and this was also a club record! He backed up with a gold in the u18 4 x 100 metres relay and a fifth in the 200 metres final.

McKenzie Little continued her great form this season with a gold in the u18 javelin (51.38m).

Bella O’Grady also won gold in the u18 4 x 100 metres relay team in which she ran with club mate Katrina Hunt. She also won a bronze medal in the u18 100 metres hurdles.


Charlotte Patterson won a silver medal in the u14 80 metres hurdles in a time of 12.60 seconds.  Katrina, Bella, Charlotte and Matt are all part of club coach Ron Bendall’s successful training group.   


Jacinta Fisher won a silver medal with a superb PB triple jump of 11.63 metres.


Annabel McDermott, coached by James (Jimbo) Fitzgerald, won silver in the u16 3,000 metres with a time of 10m 08.33.


Bryce Collins showed his versatility with a silver medal in the u18 400 metres hurdles (55.08) and a 4th in the hotly contested u18 400 metres final where the first two runners ran sub 47 times.  Bryce ran a PB of 48.84 seconds in the final.


Bronze medals were won by:


  • Matthew Dowsett – u18 110m hurdles (14.31);

  • Alec Diamond – u18 discus (50.31m);

  • Emily Hopper – u16 1,500m (4m 29.66);

  • Ben Carter - u14 triple jump (11.71m)


Other finalists:


  • William Brown – u18 discus 4th with 49.36m;

  • Aaron Jeffery – u16 200m hurdles 5th in 26.37;

  •  Emily Augustine – u18 1,500m 4th in 4m 36.78;

  •  Karina Brown – u16 90m hurdles 4th in 13.38 and 6th in u16 high jump in 1.65 metres.

UTS 2013 Blues Awards Dinner


UTS and the UTS Union honoured its student sporting highfliers at the recent 2013 Blues Sporting Awards dinner.   Amongst the honoured students were our very own athletes, Maddie Powell, Steven Wasburn and Dylan Dudley who all received the blues award.  Kieran Roche our triathlete also received a blues award.  Nick Walker got the Club Person of the Year award


 A Blue is an award earned by sportsmen and women at a university and some schools for competition at the highest level. The awarding of Blues began at Oxford and Cambridge universities in England.  Maddie Powell received the award for a very successful season including winning the 400m hurdles at the Oceania in June.  Dylan Dudley achievements came from steeplechase, cross country, 800, 1500m and road running.  Steven Wasburn was dominant in the 5km to 20km walk events.

Ron Bendall, Steven Wasburn, Maddie Powell, Dylan Dudley, Emma Hunt, Kieran Roche, Nic Walker, Frazer Dowling

Nick Walker was made Club Person of the Year based on his dedication to UTS Norths Athletics club Nick was elected onto the UTS Norths Committee in 2012. Nick has numerous responsibilities within the club, but his leadership has been especially evident in the areas of Uniforms and Club Branding. On the Track, Nick has been a part of UTS Norths recent team domination of the ANSW Summer Competition Program.

Ron Bendall and Nick Walker